Crochet Ripple Pattern

I had just recently moved into my first home with my husband and kids/furbabies. This was the beginning of a new chapter for my family. Despite how boring the unpacking, I was excited to finally have my own home to decorate. One night I was watching TV and I was freezing! Before I moved to a new state, I had lived in Florida my whole life so these cold nights/winters was a new thing to me. I realized I had no afghans or throws to keep me warm because I never needed one before. That was when I decided my first project in my new home would be an afghan.

My cat was like a kid in a candy store when I brought home the yarn. I found a crochet pattern called Neat Ripple Pattern by Lucy from Attic24. Her pattern was written using UK terms and I have rewritten it using US terms incase it is easier for you to read. I love her pattern, it is beautiful, easy, and quick to crochet.

f

Neat Ripple Pattern:

dc2tog = double crochet 2 together (UK treble) as follows:

YO, into stitch, YO, back through stitch (3 loops on hook)

YO, draw through 2 loops (2 loops on hook)

YO, into next stitch, YO, back through stitch (4 loops on hook)

YO, draw through 2 loops (3 loops on hook)

YO, draw through all 3 loops.

To begin, chain multiples of 14, plus 3 for turning.

ROW 1:

1 dc into 4th chain from hook, 1 dc into each of next 4 chs, dc2tog, dc2tog, 1 dc into each of next 4 chs, *2dc into next ch, 2 dc into next ch, 1dc into each of next 4 chs, dc2tog, dc2tog, 1 dc into each of next 4 chs*, Repeat between ** ending last rep with 2 dc into last chain, turn.

ROW 2:

ch3, 1 dc into same stitch, 1dc into each of next 4 chs, dc2tog, dc2tog, 1 dc into each of next 4 chs, *2 dc into next ch, 2 dc into next ch, 1 dc into each of next 4 chs, dc2tog, dc2tog, 1 dc into each of next 4 chs*, Repeat between ** ending last rep with 2 dc into the top chain of the chain-3 from previous row.

Repeat row 2 for length required.

Leave a comment